Home News The F1 driver with most races and not using a win as Carlos Sainz takes first win in British GP

The F1 driver with most races and not using a win as Carlos Sainz takes first win in British GP


Carlos Sainz Jr claimed his first F1 race win throughout the British GP at the 100 and 50th strive – however who’s the F1 motive force with maximum race starts without taking a victory?

It took him 150 grand prix starts and seven-and-a-half seasons, however finally Carlos Sainz Jr can determine himself a grand prix winner.

The Ferrari motive force capitalised on up to the moment refined tyres underneath a overdue protection automobile to overhaul teammate Charles Leclerc, on previous hards, as Ferrari attempted to enforce employees orders.

They asked Sainz take care of 10 automobile lengths at the back of Leclerc at the restart, however he disobeyed the request and sprinted off into the home.

Sainz is the 111th motive force to win a grand prix – and the second one Spanish one to do after a undeniable F. Alonso – whose final win was once the 2013 Spanish GP.

He may also be 2nd on perhaps essentially the most races faster than first win record, at the back of Sergio Perez who took his first win at the 100 and 90th strive throughout the 2020 Sakhir Grand Prix.

In profitable the British GP, Sainz ends one among many longest waits for a grand prix win of all-time in F1 – however who’s the using energy with maximum F1 races without ever taking a win?

Picture via Clive Mason/Getty Pictures

The motive force with maximum F1 races without taking a win

The overdue Andrea de Cesaris holds the record for numerous F1 races without taking a win.

Italian motive force de Cesaris entered 214 grands prix – beginning 208 of them between the 1980 Canadian and 1994 Ecu Grands Prix.

He drove for the likes of Alfa Romeo, McLaren, Brabham, Tyrrell (now Mercedes) and Jordan (now Aston Martin) however may not in any respect end increased than P2.

1988: Portrait of Rial Cosworth motive force Andrea de Cesaris of Italy faster than the Brazilian Grand Prix at the Rio circuit in Brazil. Cesaris retired from the race with engine issues. Necessary Credit score: Simon Bruty/Allsport

In 1982 at Lengthy Seashore, he took pole position, and was once essential at the streets, faster than he lapped a backmarker by means of a excellent corner.

He waved his hand at the backmarker – however forgot to switch tools and over-revved the engine – permitting Niki Lauda to slide by means of. He later retired by means of rear brake failure and a heavy crash.

de Cesaris is the only motive force to ever get started greater than 200 F1 race and by no means take the win. Sainz was once heading in the right kind route to eclipse him throughout the 2024 season if he didn’t win faster than then.

Fresh racers close to over the top of the record

2d at the report back to de Cesaris when it comes to maximum F1 races and now not the use of a win is Nick Heidfeld – with two former racers close at the back of.

Heidfeld’s highest result was once 2nd – jointly with for BMW throughout the 2008 Canadian GP – when teammate Robert Kubica won his only race.

‘Fast Nick’ by no means obtained throughout the position to win – and remarkably has now not won a single-seater race because of the World F3000 race at the Purple Bull Ring in 1999.

Picture via Vladimir Rys/Bongarts/Getty Pictures

He began 183 grands prix – two greater than fellow German Nico Hulkenberg.

Hulkenberg by no means fulfilled his F1 promise – and regardless of beginning 181 grands prix, by no means even obtained a podium end.

He holds the record for perhaps essentially the most grand prix starts and now not the use of a podium.

3rd at the record is ex-Haas racer Romain Grosjean.

The Franco-Swiss began 179 races in two spells – however after his coincidence at the 2020 Bahrain Grand Prix, has now not driven an F1 automobile since – even if that Mercedes take a take a look at remains to be throughout the works.

Picture via Jose Breton/NurPhoto by means of Getty Pictures

Maximum F1 races and now not the use of a win

In words of present racers, Kevin Magnussen has began 129 races since his debut in 2014 – and now Sainz has won, holds the present for numerous races without an F1 win at the present grid.

  • Andrea de Cesaris – 208
  • Nick Heidfeld – 183
  • Nico Hulkeberg – 181
  • Romain Grosjean – 179
  • Martin Brundle – 158
  • Derek Warwick – 147
  • Jean-Pierre Jarrier – 134
  • Eddie Cheever – 132
  • Kevin Magnussen – 129 – as of 2022 British GP
  • Adrian Sutil -128
Picture via Jose Breton/Pics Motion/NurPhoto by means of Getty Pictures


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here